The MANGO Fashion Bloggers Contest

*Hi guys, the page is up. Click here then on Vote Here to vote. Thank you very much! (:

I’m currently taking part in a competition hosted by Mango, where bloggers are to create a Mango outfit according to the theme – the seventies. This competition is a mini version of what Mango will be hosting on a worldwide platform on whatshouldiwearbymango.com.

I started with coming up with keywords that collided with the seventies: disco (who can forget the leotards, mini-skirts and John Travolta’s Saturday Night Fever?!), high-waist bottoms, plaids, fringes, maxis, peasant clothing, floral prints, clogs, wavy long hair (yes the sixties hippies continued to dominate fashion through to the seventies), and the list goes on.

I ended up conjuring this outfit…

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The prize of the competition will be a 750SGD Mango voucher for the winning blogger, 250SGD and 150SGD Mango vouchers respectively for the second and third runner-ups. And not forgetting the readers... a lucky voter gets to win a 250SGD Mango voucher!

I’d greatly appreciate that if you guys love the outfit I’ve conjured up, please do vote for me here! (: Who knows, you might just walk away with a 250SGD Mango voucher! Imagine how many beautiful pieces of Mango clothing you’ll get to buy. Especially the latest Fall/Winter 2010 collection! Currently hyperventilating now…

As Richard Linklater’s 1993 movie Dazed and Confused (set in 1976) pointed out, “the Fifties were boring, the Sixties rocked, the Seventies—oh my God—they obviously suck, right?” I beg to differ! Just take a look at Mango’s seventies-inspired Fall/Winter 2010 collection.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Check out the use of fabrics and the layering worthy for the hippies. Mango readapted the seventies style and incorporated a modern take into their outfits. With a little bit of twisting and turning, the seventies really weren’t that bad after all. There’s even a hint of disco on the black sheer sequin blouse and dress! Like what you see? I certainly did! I logged on to whatshouldiwearbymango.com and started playing around with mixing and matching the garments. Remember how we girls used to love dressing our Barbie dolls up? With technology means we can play dress up virtually now, no matter the age!

My mum used to shop at Mango. A lot. But before, as a kid, I remember tagging along aimlessly and desperately hoping and praying that she’d grant me my one and only wish of going to the land of paradise – the toy department. Who’d have known that it’s my turn to be a Mango fan? And mind you, my stylish mother still shops at Mango. Well, I’m sure that ten years down the road, my baby girl will be wishing the same thing I did when I was a kid. And then the cycle repeats…

Ps: Please do click here to vote for me! :D Thank y’all so much!


Kommentarer
Postat av: kelly

becks my dear, i would love to vote for u but i can't seem to find your entry!!

2010-09-15 @ 18:36:24
Postat av: mariliis

I want to vote for you as well, the outfit is just stunning. But I seem to have the same problem, I can't find your entry and when I click on the link it directly goes to some random page. You're amazing and I hope you win! :)

2010-09-15 @ 21:44:20
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Hi guys, sorry there's something wrong with the Mango Cozycot website, they couldn't register my entry. Will let y'all know when it's up. In the meantime, stay tuned! :D

2010-09-16 @ 03:37:31
Postat av: Nathalie Kartika Putri

Heyy you look so gorgeous in that disco outfit! i love your pants. is this competition open for world wide?



<a href="http://nathaliekartikaputri.blogspot.com">natzcracker</a>

2010-09-16 @ 05:18:44
URL: http://nathaliekartikaputri.blogspot.com
Postat av: nasia

WOW!!! Such captivating styling and photos, Becks! Good job! I will vote for you, of course! :)



www.extrashotofespresso.tumblr.com

2010-09-16 @ 10:24:06
URL: http://www.extrashotofespresso.tumblr.com
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Nathalie Kartika Putri - Thank you! I think the registration of bloggers are only for Singapore. (: Please do vote if you like my outfit!

2010-09-16 @ 13:37:07
Postat av: camerafilmroll

nasia - Thank you very much! The link is working, please do vote if you like my outfit! (:

2010-09-16 @ 13:37:31
Postat av: Kaysee

Ive voted for you!

anyways, may i reallyy know what camera do you use? thank you so much hope you win!!!:)

2010-09-16 @ 21:57:06
Postat av: KD

oh em gee. totally loving thiiiiiiiiiiis!!!! i love the whole outfit and ur photos are soooo stunning!

2010-09-17 @ 03:06:40
URL: http://thegirlwiththemessyhair.blogspot.com
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Kaysee - Thank you for voting! I use a sony alpha with a f1.8/50mm prime lens. (:

2010-09-17 @ 05:41:47
Postat av: camerafilmroll

KD - Thanks! Please do vote for me if you like! (:

2010-09-17 @ 05:42:18
Postat av: Jolene

hi becks! i've voted for you and will vote again tomorrow! you look great in this outfit, i like :D

2010-09-17 @ 11:59:57
URL: http://jolenezhou.blogspot.com/
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Jolene - Hello Jolene! Heh thanks so much for voting! (:

2010-09-17 @ 17:11:16
Postat av: stella

omg, becks you're stunning! everything from head to toe is simply fab. you totally kick this outfit! i have voted for you. all the best and take care!

2010-09-18 @ 15:36:59
URL: http://stellectism.blogspot.com/
Postat av: Jony

That is such a beautiful outfit!!

Love the pics as well

Postat av: Sheila

Lovely pictures! ;D



Hugs

2010-09-19 @ 22:07:45
URL: http://sheilastyle.blogg.se/
Postat av: camerafilmroll

stella, Jony, Sheila - Thank y'all so much! (:

2010-09-20 @ 02:37:24
Postat av: pj

i wanted to buy the knitted cardi too! nice pics

2010-09-20 @ 03:17:16
URL: http://fashfix.blogspot.com
Postat av: R.Y

I voted for you! What you submitted was really the best entry there is there, I am pretty sure you will win!!! Will keep voting if I do remember to because I really want you to win, haha.



Just curious, is the location in the photo Punggol End?

2010-09-20 @ 12:05:09
Postat av: camerafilmroll

pj - Thanks!

2010-09-20 @ 12:58:00
Postat av: C

Hi, may i know if the items you're wearing are all owned by you?

2010-09-20 @ 19:39:50
Postat av: camerafilmroll

R.Y - Thanks for voting! And yes, it's Punggol End. (:

2010-09-21 @ 03:32:26
Postat av: camerafilmroll

C - Nope, I picked them out from the Mango boutique and matched them for the contest.

2010-09-21 @ 03:33:14
Postat av: Lena

I like ur style. u have pretty smile.

2010-12-16 @ 15:07:42

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0