Too weak for my dreams.

I've been contemplating between undertaking a university business degree or a fashion management diploma/degree ever since my mum said to me, "Why not choose something related to fashion? Since you're so interested.." So today I checked out a local arts school and when I found out about the school fees, my heart sank. Because I have already used up my government tuition grant for my polytechnic education, this meant that I had to pay the full fee amount which is around 17.5k per year.

Quote unquote AJ, "I sometimes wish i went crazy and did fashion instead".

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Check out my new neon pink earrings!


Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

hello there! is your top the way it is as a tube top or is it a diy? am interested. :) it looks really pretty! :)

2009-03-17 @ 16:26:24
Postat av: Bella

This is so f****** gorgeous, head-to-toe, I LOVE it!!

2009-03-17 @ 17:15:22
URL: http://vintagelollipops.blogspot.com
Postat av: Bella

This is so f******* gorgeous... hea-to-toe I absolutley love the rock-chic vibes!

2009-03-17 @ 17:19:30
URL: http://vintagelollipops.blogspot.com
Postat av: Dee

Please tell me how i can do that shirt!

2009-03-18 @ 04:10:02
Postat av: vintage Tea

Gorgeous outfit, i think you should go for a fashion one, I have so many things i want to study! It should all be free forever. I mean whats wrong with wanting to learn more???



<a href="http://www.vintage-tea.blogspot.com/"> Click here to visit me at Vintage Tea</a>!



x

2009-03-18 @ 09:06:42
URL: http://vintage-tea.blogspot.com/
Postat av: AJ

Aww, don't feel bad. If it makes you feel any better, that top-slash-dress looks amazing :)

2009-03-18 @ 13:42:47
URL: http://www.vintagepetite.blogspot.com
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Anon - Hello, thank you! It's a top-turned-tube dress, just simply tie the sleeves into a knot in whichever way you want it. (:

2009-03-18 @ 16:11:40
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Bella - Heh thank you! (:

2009-03-18 @ 16:12:25
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Dee - Hah, just simply tie the sleeves into a knot in whichever way you want it.

2009-03-18 @ 16:13:41
Postat av: camerafilmroll

Vintage Tea - I would love to do Fashion Management but it's a heavy burden financially. Whilst there is government subsidies for Business in uni. =/ Oh well! Thanks by the way!

2009-03-18 @ 16:15:25
Postat av: camerafilmroll

AJ - Thank you! :))

2009-03-18 @ 16:15:50
Postat av: kat kelly

Girl you style is dope!!! you want to go into the business side of fashion???Why, you really should consider styling, Art direction, or buyer

2009-03-21 @ 01:07:30
Postat av: kat kelly

I say that because you seem to have an goop eye for detail, very cool, and consistent style, that you could really brand for yourself. You know how to make a look distinctive and stand out. The business side when I look at your pic I don't get that at all.



http://theartistresolution.wordpress.com/

Postat av: camerafilmroll

kat kelly - Wow, thank you for the compliment! It really meant something to me. (:

2009-03-21 @ 16:49:15
Postat av: anon

hi! :) is ur shirt turned tube dress a rather big size? cos the collar of the shirt seems bigger than usual to be able to fit the pit to pit area across? haha thanks! i really love ur outfit btw! :D

2009-03-22 @ 09:43:19
Postat av: camerafilmroll

anon - It's actually the top from this post, http://camerafilmroll.blogg.se/2009/february/couch-potato.html. (: Don't think you can see the photos now because I exceeded Photobucket's bandwidth. ^&(#%&(#%&#%))! =/ Haha, check back on the 26th, that's when the photos come back I think!

2009-03-22 @ 14:42:26
Postat av: kat kelly

Hey Camarafilmroll,



Well I am glad that you accepted the compliment. I hope you put some thought into what I said, unless that is what you really want to do. (The business side of fashion)



I have a friend I reconnected with on facebook. When grew up in elementary school together. She use to love doing her own hair and creating all these creative styles, and she was up on the latest things you can do with hair!



So fast-forward to the now, I was recently looking at a pic. of her on facebook and I was like "where do you go to get your hair done?" I said "It ALWAYS looks so great and healthy?"



She wrote me back and said basically the she does her own hair, and that she always wanted to be a hairstylist, but she knew her mom wouldn't go for it. She went on to say that if she did follow her dream she KNOWS she would be famous, and be working with all the celebs." LOL I know this girl, and she is right, my friend Renee is very, very driven.



So CFR, I say all that to say, just be sure. Your blog is about you!, there is something about your style that I dig, you have fun with the CREATIVE side of fashion. You enjoy the camera; your blog is not about business. So I could be REALLY wrong, I don’t know you personally, I just observe, that is my job. I Analyze, so go with your heart. My friend is in nothing creative, that is a shame, since we were kids, Style, Fashion was so much a part of her, she would be great at it.



Later

http://theartistresolution.wordpress.com

Postat av: kat kelly

Hey Camarafilmroll,



Well I am glad that you accepted the compliment. I hope you put some thought into what I said, unless that is what you really want to do. (The business side of fashion)



I have a friend I reconnected with on facebook. When grew up in elementary school together. She use to love doing her own hair and creating all these creative styles, and she was up on the latest things you can do with hair!



So fast-forward to the now, I was recently looking at a pic. of her on facebook and I was like "where do you go to get your hair done?" I said "It ALWAYS looks so great and healthy?"



She wrote me back and said basically the she does her own hair, and that she always wanted to be a hairstylist, but she knew her mom wouldn't go for it. She went on to say that if she did follow her dream she KNOWS she would be famous, and be working with all the celebs." LOL I know this girl, and she is right, my friend Renee is very, very driven.



So CFR, I say all that to say, just be sure. Your blog is about you!, there is something about your style that I dig, you have fun with the CREATIVE side of fashion. You enjoy the camera; your blog is not about business. So I could be REALLY wrong, I don’t know you personally, I just observe, that is my job. I Analyze, so go with your heart. My friend is in nothing creative, that is a shame, since we were kids, Style, Fashion was so much a part of her, she would be great at it.



Later

http://theartistresolution.wordpress.com

Postat av: camerafilmroll

kat kelly - Thank you for the inspirational story! I guess the only weakness is me is that I lack confidence like your friend. Because in my country, Singapore, the art and fashion industry is so small that it's just like what my country is, a red dot on the big world map. To make a career out of it, it takes your talent + most importantly, a whole lot of luck.



And actually, the core problem of this issue is that the school fees are too expensive ($17.5k per year and calculating 4 years would be $70k). I grow up in a single-parent family and my mum still has to provide for my two other sisters' education. So I must be sure that I DO make good out of this education, and although it's part of telling yourself if you can do it, it's also asking if the environment allows you to do it or not. (:



I want to thank you for taking your time out to comment. It is really comforting to see someone enjoying what I'd love to do and providing advices and your opinion. Thank you so much, really. (:



xx

2009-03-25 @ 04:19:24
Postat av: kat kelly

No Problem CFR I am a child of a single mom and I have a sis as well. So I can totally dig what you are saying. Well let life decided, one thing about life If you trust it you will be where you should be.



You have to feel most comfortable with your decision, but you know, do fashion things on the side just for fun. Fashion is expensive here as well in NY, and economically fashion is really taking a hit.



Just as long as you know, that I see your style, and you have an ability to dress others. So start small keep doing your blog, and style your friends! take Pics. of them, create a little portfolio if you want to. See what it would be like if you styled others. I don't know I just see something about your you and your blog, But make the best decision for you, and that is never wrong.



Ill be checking your blog, I have bookmarked it :-)

Postat av: kat kelly

No Problem CFR I am a child of a single mom and I have a sis as well. So I can totally dig what you are saying. Well let life decided, one thing about life If you trust it you will be where you should be.



You have to feel most comfortable with your decision, but you know, do fashion things on the side just for fun. Fashion is expensive here as well in NY, and economically fashion is really taking a hit.



Just as long as you know, that I see your style, and you have an ability to dress others. So start small keep doing your blog, and style your friends! take Pics. of them, create a little portfolio if you want to. See what it would be like if you styled others. I don't know I just see something about your fashion sense and your blog, But make the best decision for you, and that is never wrong.



Ill be checking your blog, I have bookmarked it :-)

Postat av: kat kelly

Sorry about posting that twice Ugh...

Postat av: camerafilmroll

kat kelly - "You have to feel most comfortable with your decision." I totally agree with that. And I am still trying to accept my decision that I have to make, so it's something that I have to learn to do.



Thank you so much for your support! (:

2009-03-26 @ 09:27:33
Postat av: emma

I like this outfit!

2009-05-31 @ 00:32:22
URL: http://emmaelefant.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0